Oil for Dry Skin: Benefits & Uses of Baby Oil

• Medical
  • Thread starter jobyts
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Oil Skin
In summary, baby oil is typically used to help reduce dry skin, but it is important to read the product label to make sure that the oil you are using is appropriate for your skin.
jobyts
Does putting oil on the skin helps to reduce the dry skin? Or, it just looks better because under oil, the dry skin is temporarily invisible? What is baby oil for?

Biology news on Phys.org
Hi there,

I am not an expert on baby oil, or any type of oil as a matter of fact, but the type of oil you will put on your skin (dry or not) will defenitely depends on the absorption coefficient. I discourage you to put motor oil, thinking that it will help your dry skin.

A bit more info could be useful. Your skin is not a static material like plastic. On the macroscopic scale, your skin looks like a tissu with multiple holes (poors). When you apply stuff on it (hopefully good stuff, like good skin oil or cream), it will get absorbed through the holes in your skin, therefore with a favorable effect of regenerating your skin tissue.

Therefore, when oil is applied, it definitely sinks into your skins.

I moved this from S&D but wasn't sure about the best place for it.

I believe its better to apply oils from the inside. Add some fish oil or flaxseed oil to your diet, and dry skin will all but vanish.

rubbing olive oil on your skin can help.

Applying oil to the top of the skin is only going to paste the loose skin cells down and make it look less flaky until the oil comes off.

Oil or moisturizers aren't going to repair skin that's already damaged or dry. What it *might* do, though, is to help add a layer of protection to that already damaged skin to prevent further loss of moisture.