Energy neither created nor destroyed

• Thread starter Super.man
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Energy
In summary, the conversation discussed the idea of connecting a motor with a generator to create a perpetual motion machine. However, it was pointed out that this would not work due to the law of energy conservation, which states that energy cannot be created or destroyed but can only be transformed. Different power sources, such as water, fossil fuels, or wind, would be needed to generate power. The conversation also touched on personal experiences with attempting to create such a machine as a child.
Super.man
I am studying engineering in my preparatory year and i have an idea which i would like to know if it is true??
why don't we connect a motor with a generator ??
so if we rotated the generator with our hand , the current produced will go to the motor which will rotate due to the magnetic forces and will rotate also the generator...
so it will not stop...
but does that agree with the theory of energy :"Energy neither created nor destroyed but it can be transformed with one form to another"

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi Super.man, welcome to PF.

Perpetual motion machines are not an accepted topic for PF. It won't work because it will take more energy to turn the motor than the generator will produce.

can't i use any circuit to increase the current produced by the generator and hence increase the power .

yes but then the motor will require more power...to drive a generator, you need to produce power in a way that utilizes other power sources instead of electricity...say water falling (hydroelectric power), burning fossil fuels (a diesel engine or a gas turbine) or wind...

I get it now...
Thanks for explaining :cool:

LOL! I remember doing this as a kid. I didn't expect it be an "eternity machine", but I did wonder if the motor would run longer by a measurable time on my clock :-)