Mechanical Design Engineer vs. Technical Support Engineer

In summary, the speakers in this conversation discuss their backgrounds and current career paths in the fields of Physics, Mechanical Engineering, HVAC design, and Controls Engineering. They also share their thoughts on the advantages and disadvantages of their chosen career paths and offer advice for those looking to enter the field. The conversation touches on the importance of gaining experience and skills in various areas, such as CAD design and computer programming, and the potential for career advancement and job opportunities in different industries. One speaker also expresses interest in pursuing environmental engineering and questions the potential for combining it with a background in mechanical engineering.
MrJohnnyPrice
This is my first post. My name is John. I'm an undergraduate Physics and Mechanical Engineering student and I'm still unsure of the types of jobs that could be available for me once I graduate. Particularly jobs prior to grad school. After graduating I'll have a Bachelor's degree in Physics from West Chester University of PA and in Mechanical Engineering from Philadelphia University.

I'm currently importing helium fridge parts into Solidworks for the Atacama Cosmology Telescope as a TA. I'm very interested in Astronomy and Cosmology, and might pursue something along those lines for grad school.

Cheers.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi all, I'm 23 year old Mechanical Engineering student working on my first year after spending a few years after high school working in various technician positions. If anyone's got the time to answer a few questions, I would appreciate your input.

For those of you working in HVAC/MEP design, what caused you to take this route as opposed to other career paths? How did you come to be in your position?