McGill - Joint Honours in Mathematics and Physics

In summary, the speaker is a science freshman at McGill University and is having trouble finding information about the requirements for their program. They have emailed their advisor but have not received a response yet. They are asking for help from anyone who has gone to McGill and is wondering about the requirements for entry into the program, specifically the meaning of "high standing" in regards to the Physics Pre-Program requirements. They also mention their interest in physics and math and have been warned that the program is challenging. Another person who got in from CEGEP suggests having the pre-requisites for U1 courses and maintaining a 3.0 GPA. They also recommend taking Math 222 in U0 to avoid schedule conflicts and warn the speaker to be prepared
Daytripper17
I'm a science freshman (U0) at McGill and I can't seem to find the answer to this question on any website. I've sent it by email to my advisor, but have not got a response back yet. My question to anyone that goes or has gone to McGill is: What exactly are the requirements for entry into the program? The only requirement that is listed in the program description is "completion with high standing of the Physics Pre-Program requirements" (science freshman courses). What exactly does this mean? Is there any implied minimum GPA by "high standing"?

Thanks for any help. And yes I know it's challenging; that's why I'm interested, really (besides a love for both physics and maths, of course).

Physics news on Phys.org