Need some help with my BSc dissertation

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's project on Global Positioning Systems (GPS) for their Physics degree. The student's university has not provided much guidance, but their project supervisor has given them the freedom to explore the topic on their own. The student has looked into the relativistic effects on GPS satellites and now needs to focus on data analysis and calculations. Suggestions are given for analyzing data from past experiments and exploring the limitations of GPS in terms of general relativity. The importance of a well-structured report for achieving top marks is also mentioned.
jamesa00789
Hey.

I'm in my last year doing a degree in Physics, and this semester I have a project which is worth 1/3rd of this semester. I have chosen to do it on Global Positioning Systems.

My university hasn't given me much help for my project - they have literally been like "go away and do a project on GPS". I have spoken to my project supervisor and he has said I can basically do whatever I want with it, so everything seems all up in the air.

SO far I have calculated general and special relativistic effects for the satellites that orbit the earth. I have also loosely researched special and general relativity. My supervisor said not to go into special relativity because we pretty much know all we can about that.

He also said that GPS gives the most accurate test of general relativity, and said this would be a good thing to go into. After that he didn't give that much help.

I assume to get the top marks I need to analyse data, number crunch it and then calculate errors etc? It's quite hard to do that because obviously I can't send a satellite into space and measure my own results.

And I guess its hard to use lots of data for theoretical projects too.

If anyone can help me in anyway, or point me in the right direction I will be forever in your debt! I am very stuck and not sure what to do with my project.