What is the Expectation Value of (X'*X)^-1 in MATLAB for Signal Constellations?

In summary, the "Expectation value" in Matlab is a statistical measure that represents the average value of a random variable, calculated using the "mean" or "sum" function. It can be calculated for non-numerical data, but may not always be meaningful. The expectation value is useful in data analysis for summarizing data, comparing datasets, and identifying outliers. However, it cannot be used to make predictions about future data. Other statistical methods should be used for this purpose.
florenti
Hi,

as I am new in Matlab, so I need your help.

I want to replace the following inverse matrix (X'*X)^-1 with its expectation value:

E{(X'*X)^-1} = E{|1/Xk|^2}I

X'*X and (X'*X)^-1 is a diagonal matrix. Could anyone give me an Idea how to write it in MATLAB this expectation value. The elements of a matrix X are composed by QPSK symbols, or 16-QAM, or 64-QAM. Assume for now QPSK.

Assuming the same
signal constellation on all tones and equal probability on all constellation points.

Thanks in advande.

Physics news on Phys.org
Still no help...

1. What is the "Expectation value" in Matlab?

The "Expectation value" in Matlab is a statistical measure that represents the average value of a random variable, based on its probability distribution. It is also known as the mean or the first moment of the distribution.

2. How is the expectation value calculated in Matlab?

The expectation value in Matlab is calculated using the "mean" function, which takes in a vector or matrix of values and returns the average value. It can also be calculated using the "sum" function, where the sum of the values is divided by the total number of values.

3. Can the expectation value be calculated for non-numerical data in Matlab?