Comments on thermodynamics statements.

In summary: Internal energy is the sum of molecular kinetic and potential energies in the frame of reference relative to which the center of mass of the system is at rest. This is a pretty straightforward concept, and is different than heat, which is the energy in transit.4) Heat and work are not state variables, they are modes of energy transfer. 5) Delta(U) is not path dependent, but delta(Q) and delta(W) are.
manjuvenamma
I am a beginner in thermodynamics. I was going through a educational board's chapter on thermodynamics. I want to know if they are accurate and other comments if any. The statements are as below. Also we come across state variables in applications of current laws too. So what is special about state variables, how are they different from other variables.

1) The distinction between mechanics and thermodynamics is worth bearing in mind. In mechanics our interest is in the motion of particles or bodies under the action of forces and torques. Thermodynamics is not concerned with the motion of the system as a whole. It is concerned with the internal macroscopic state of the body. When a bullet is fired from a gun, what changes is the mechanical state of the bullet (its kinetic energy in particular), not its temperature. When the bullet pierces a wood and stops, the kinetic energy of the bullet gets converted into heat, changing the temperature of the bullet into the surrounding layers of wood. Temperature is related to the internal (disordered) motion of the bullet, not to the motion of the bullet as a whole.

………………