What is the best way to estimate the current ripple in a 12-pulse power supply?

In summary, this power supply has good ripple suppression and is suitable for high power applications.
rsalmon
Hi,

I am trying to, roughly, calculate the current ripple associated with a 12-pulse power supply. I have managed to workout an (idealised) voltage ripple from the rectified signal and I heard that there is a way to work out the current ripple from that.

I'm a physicist not an electrical engineer so I'm sorry if I have neglected some important information or have confused my definitions but if someone can help that will be great.

Rob

Engineering news on Phys.org
rsalmon said:
Hi,

I am trying to, roughly, calculate the current ripple associated with a 12-pulse power supply. I have managed to workout an (idealised) voltage ripple from the rectified signal and I heard that there is a way to work out the current ripple from that.

I'm a physicist not an electrical engineer so I'm sorry if I have neglected some important information or have confused my definitions but if someone can help that will be great.

Rob

Could you give more details about the power supply? You call it "12-pulse", but I don't know what that means. Do you mean it is a DC-DC converter power supply? If so, what topology is it?

You will find a definition/explanation of pulse numbers (including 12 pulse) near the bottom of this page.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverter_(electrical)

The ripple depends upon the current draw ie the load as well as the supply. It is only partly a function of the supply configuration.

Last edited by a moderator:
If your output goes directly from a bridge rectifier to a capacitor bank without a current limiting device, you will have very high current surges for a small % of output voltage waveform. You cannot calculate the rms current or peak current until you have a specific circuit design.

Bob S

Studiot said: