Understanding Drag and Coefficient of Drag (Cd) in Aero Engineering

In summary, In order to calculate the drag force on an airfoil, you need to know the drag coefficient (Cd), the airspeed (V), and the angle of attack (AoA).
kjr
Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to the aero engineering and have a question regarding drag. The lecturer explained it briefly, threw some formulae at us and now I'm confused trying to make sense of it all.

So, i have these two formulae relating to drag:

1) D = 0.5(rho)(V^2)(A)(Cd) and

2) Cd = Cd,0 + (Cl^2)/(pi)(e)(AR)

From what I've gathered around the internet, the second part in the 2) formula related to induced drag, and the first part is the drag coefficient at zero-lift. What i don't understand is where do i get this Cd,0 from?

I have a graph of coefficient of drag vs angle of attack, do i just read it off the graph?

I'm trying to get the graph of airspeed and drag, so i can find the velocity at minimum drag.

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
kjr said:
I have a graph of coefficient of drag vs angle of attack, do i just read it off the graph?
You can do this. Just make sure the graph applies to your shape and the Reynold's Number of the flow.

Great, thanks! So once i do that i just put 2) into 1) and that should give me the drag force, right?

Yes. This is a simple, but powerfull, calculation.

Good stuff. Thank you!

what if you don't have a graph?

F1Guille said:
what if you don't have a graph?

For most common airfoils, the graphs of this are easy to find.

Yeah, but my airfoil isn't any airfoil hich has been designed before because it isn't rounded in the leading edge, but straight for simplicity for construction. So, if there is no graph?

F1Guille said:
Yeah, but my airfoil isn't any airfoil hich has been designed before because it isn't rounded in the leading edge, but straight for simplicity for construction. So, if there is no graph?