Applications of magnetic levitation

In summary: The way you've set it up now (from that colour image) it would simply attract to the metal rail at the bottom and stick to it.
Pranav Jha
i am a high school student and have designed a magnetic levitation system for my school science fair.
The circuit used is: http://uzzors2k.4hv.org/projectfiles/magneticlevitator/Magnetic Levitator circuit.GIF
However, i would like to scale up the project and find some REAL WORLD applications for the system. I have been thinking about this for two days now but haven't come up with anything yet.
One idea would be an earthquake detector (need to think about that)
Has anyone got anything else in mind?
(P.S.: As soon as possible)

Engineering news on Phys.org
You'd need two electro magnets to get this to levitate.

The way you've set it up now (from that colour image) it would simply attract to the metal rail at the bottom and stick to it.

jarednjames said:
You'd need two electro magnets to get this to levitate.

The way you've set it up now (from that colour image) it would simply attract to the metal rail at the bottom and stick to it.