What Are the Regulations for Research on Diseases like ALS?

• Thread starter nautica
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Research
In summary, conducting research on controlled substances, animals, or radioisotopes requires strict adherence to numerous regulations and guidelines. This includes obtaining DEA licensing, following institutional and government guidelines for animal research, and complying with Good Laboratory Practices and FDA policies. It is a lengthy and complex process that involves extensive paperwork and oversight.
nautica
Does anybody know the regulations concerning research.

For example, If I were to research on mice, what are the laws concerning controlled and non-controlled substances. Mostly concerned with schedule 2 and 3.

I am a student but I would have the funds to start a company if needed and could, also, have an M.D. with me if needed.

Thanks
Nautica

Biology news on Phys.org
I was going to say that chemical supply companies do sell DEA scheduled drugs and that if you happen to have a copy of the Sigma catalog they probably have the rules (or at least some references).

I imagine it is an enormous administrative hurdle, although I suspect it would scale with how many drugs you use and in what quantities.

If you are going to deal with research subjects or animals or radioisotopes there will be a lot of regulations. I wish I had something helpfull to say, but I really wouldn't know how to start up such a thing :(

Ian referenced some good books though :)
How about talking to some profs and see which guidelines they give.. and then get back to us to report how it works :)

The professors at my university are not involved in research. I have thought about applying for a position at a univeristy that is about an hour from my home. But, I would prefer to stay here and I would rather not work on someone elses project or on a project which I am not concerned with.