Carbon Fibre Flywheel (for energy storage)

In summary, it is difficult to make a flywheel that is meant to store energy and it is probably best to use a heavy material to avoid having to spin it too fast.
nuncoop
Is it difficult to make? as a complete beginner, what do I need to know, and am I way in over my head? :) any help would be appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you were making a flywheel that is meant to store energy, you would want it to be made out of a nice heavy material to avoid having to spin it too fast. For this reason, carbon fiber is probably the WORST material that said flywheel could be made out of.

What about a steel cylinder encompassed by an outer cylinder of carbon fibre? My goal is to incorporate it into a car as the main power source.

Maximum energy stored for the weight necessitates high rpm. Disintegration on overspeed is the problem. Steel becomes shrapnel. Carbon fibre becomes fuzz. For the weight carbon fibre should be able to store more energy than steel as it will be able to spin faster before destruction. The wheel is shaped such that a planned band near the rim is formed with less thickness so that on overspeed only the rim disintegrates. Like a shear pin.

Some work was done to in the late 70's to incorporate a flywheel in a coal mine in Pennsylvania, I believe. The shuttle car was to have a 5 flywheel package where the cable reel was. The flywheel would provide thru a gear box hydraulics, lights, tram and conveyor power for 20 minutes. Idea was at the feeder when dumping coal to contact the power supply and spin the wheels back up. I never did hear how the tests went. I saw that in an old Mechanix Illustrated. Since 30 years from that I've never heard of such in the coal fields I'd say that normal mining "stop and go" methods proved the idea not feasible in that application.

I think some trolley cars on the west coast were using flywheels to go beyond the trolley wire a short distance.