Collapse of the wave-function of a single photon in the general sense

In summary: These are all based on the wave function for particles that have an associated wave function, which for photons is pretty much anything.
entropy1
non-locality and the collapse of the wave-function of a single photon

I'm a bit of a layman on english and on physics, so here it is.

My questions are about the collapse of the wave-function of a single photon in the general sense. I will mention where I mean to pose a question.

If we may consider a single photon-particle as a wave with corresponding wave-function... (may we? question 1)

...and if we consider the physical manifestation of the likely position of this particle in time as determined by this function as, ideally, a 'growing' sphere in diameter.. (may we? question 2)

...then may we consider the 'detection' of the particle as a collapse of the corresponding wave-function... (may we? question 3)

...thus prohibiting 'detection' of this particle on every place on the, now collapsing, sphere? (question 4)

Is this prohibition a so called 'non-local' effect? (question 5)

Is it possible to so 'instantly' transfer information of the 'detection' all over the sphere? (question 6)

I assumed that the meaning of 'detection', 'non-local' and 'instantly' were clear.
Questions 5 and 6 are the ones I'm really interrested in.

Thanks very much in advance! You will probably laugh about this one.
I really know nothing about this, but it troubles me...can't sleep.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

entropy1 said:
If we may consider a single photon-particle as a wave with corresponding wave-function... (may we? question 1)

No, because photons can NOT be described using a wavefunction (in the Schroedinger sense). There are all sorts of technical ways to try to get around this (mainly introducing other mathematical tools), but the fact remains that photons can not be described using wavefunctions in the same way as for example electrons.