Split Step Fourier Method

In summary, the group is discussing the use of split step Fourier method for solving NLS-typed equations. One member is unsure of where to place a constant (C) in the equation, but another member reassures that it does not matter whether it is in the linear or nonlinear part.
hanson
Hi all.
I am studying the use of split step Fourier method to solve NLS-typed equations.
One problem is that, for this type of equations:
iAt+Axx+|A|^2A+C=0, where C is a constant
How shall I implement the split step Fourier method?
I find no where to put my constant C because it is not multiplied with A, so I can't really put it in the linear or nonlinear part, is it?
Any idea? Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
because its a constant, it shouldn't really matter where you put it. ie. in the linear or nonlinear part.

thats at least my understanding...

What is the Split Step Fourier Method?

The Split Step Fourier Method is a numerical technique commonly used to solve partial differential equations. It involves splitting the problem into smaller, more manageable steps, which are then solved using the Fast Fourier Transform algorithm.

What types of problems can the Split Step Fourier Method solve?

The Split Step Fourier Method is particularly useful for solving problems that involve wave propagation, such as the Schrödinger equation in quantum mechanics or the nonlinear Schrödinger equation in optics. It can also be applied to problems in other fields, such as fluid dynamics and signal processing.

How does the Split Step Fourier Method work?

The Split Step Fourier Method involves breaking down a complex problem into smaller, more manageable steps. Each step is solved using the Fast Fourier Transform algorithm, which converts the problem into the frequency domain. The results are then transformed back into the time or space domain to obtain the solution.

What are the advantages of using the Split Step Fourier Method?