The prospects of physics

• Thread starter af394
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
So while it may seem like physics is "finished", there is always more to discover and explore in the field.
af394
I just want to know the future prospects of every field of physics.Who can offer me an introduction?

Physics news on Phys.org
As Max Planck's physics teacher supposedly told him (c. 1880):
Physics is finished, young man. It's a dead-end street.​
:wink:

af394 said:
I just want to know the future prospects of every field of physics.Who can offer me an introduction?
As an old engineer, I am biased, but if it is advice you're looking for, I would say learn as much physics as you can then apply it in the field of engineering. We get paid more than the researchers, but I imagine they have more fun :smile:

I'm going into condensed matter physics, and like to try to turn others onto the field. There is a lot of research, theoretical, experimental, and applied, going on in CM. Also CM has a good amount of funding, but also has more competition for the money.

There is a lot of interesting new research going on in condensed matter. High temperature superconductors, quantum computing, and Bose-Einstein condensates are just a few of the topics being studied by CM research groups out there.

DOC AI,I guess what you mean is that,physics seems to be finished,but actually we have much to do in the field.Right?

af394 said:
DOC AI,I guess what you mean is that,physics seems to be finished,but actually we have much to do in the field.Right?

All that's left in physics is stamp collecting

af394 said:

It's a joke. Throughout history, physicists always thought that they were juuuuust about to figure out everything there is to know about physics and then something ground-breaking occurs that throws what we thought we knew about physics into question and eventually entire new fields and theories come into play.

What is the current state of physics research?