A layman's question about nuclear fusion

In summary: Are there any other ways to produce Helium-3, or might it be a fuel we dismiss?There are a few ways to produce helium-3, but they are all experimental and not yet commercially viable.
justawriter
Hi,

I’m a hobbyist writer with a slight science fiction slant to my stories. Currently my work involves some reference to the much expected nuclear fusion power. I have been doing some research online, but since I’m not a physicist this naturally resulted in a number of questions.

I’m not trying to recreate a fully realistic scenario in my story (that would make me some denomination of scientist), but I would like to have at least some level of credibility.

So here are my fusion questions (hope someone can shed some light on them):

1: Could Deuterium be extracted from seawater at an industrial level?
2: If a Deuterium-Deuterium fuel is used in a fusion reactor, would the by-product be Helium-3?
3: is it imaginable (could there be an economic reason) that a power plant combined a secondary (low power) reactor fuelled by Deuterium-Deuterium and then a primary (high power) reactor fuelled by the resulting Helium-3?

I hope the forumites will indulge a layman and let me hear your thoughts about the above.

Physics news on Phys.org
1) Yes, the water is called 'heavy water' and can be easily extracted from seawater
2) About half of the product would be Helium 3 and a neutron, the other half would be tritium and a proton
3) Helium 3 is not an efficient reactant, however tritium-deuterium is much more efficient generating nearly five times more energy then deuterium-deuterium, so a secondary reactor utilizing the tritium generated by the D-D reaction would be extremely efficient.

Hi Mettenerinfo,

Thanks for your reply, which cleared up a my questions well.