3V to 5V dc-dc boost converter

In summary, a 2nd year engineering student is struggling with building a 3V to 5V DC-DC boost converter using only discreet components and within a 30mA current limit. They have searched online for information but have not found what they need. Another user suggests using two 1.6V batteries in series, but the student is unsure of the values of the components needed. Another user offers a circuit using an astable multivibrator and a voltage doubler, while another suggests an instructable for a similar project. The student is grateful for the help and is still looking for more suggestions.
SanGaL
hi everyone :smile:

i am a 2nd year engineering student...i have a problem here... :confused: i was asked to build a 3V to 5V dc-dc boost converter but i have no idea how to build it... i have search all over the webs but the information they gave me ain't what i want.

i was asked to build a step up from 3V to 5V converter using only discreet components. I can't uses switches too... :frown: The current must be within 30mA.

I would appreciate it very much if anyone can help me... :wink:

Thankz :biggrin:

Engineering news on Phys.org
Take a 3V battery and connect a 2V battery in series.

i can only use two 1.6V batteries in the circuit.

http://www.powerdesigners.com/InfoWeb/design_center/articles/DC-DC/converter.shtm . This help?

Last edited by a moderator:
hehe... I've tried building this circuit already but don't know why it can't work.
is it because of the values i use for the components?
i've used:
1)150uH inductor
2)BC817-25 transistor
3)0.47uF cap
4)BAS85 diode

can give suggestions on what components i can use?
Thanz =)

Got me there. My experience consists in building a capacitive discharge ignition system from a kit forty years ago that had a 12 to 400V dc-dc converter in it. Put out a hell of a spark--actually advanced the timing.

Then how can i calculate the values of the components i need to boost the voltage from 3V to 5V??