Need help with spring launcher please

In summary: I was wondering if someone could help me out with that.In summary, the student is trying to design a spring launcher that can change angles and distance. He needs to find the amount of potential energy in the spring, and then equate that with the kinetic energy of the spring. He is also wondering if someone could help him out with finding the other value of t for which y = 0. Finally, he is wondering if this is a practical experiment, and if so, how he is going to get the spring to go straight.
psp101

Homework Statement

hi this is my first time posting here but I'm been on the forum a lot just looking for help on this assignment I have

I need to make a spring laucher that's able to change angles and distance
heres an example of my lancher

A spring is launched to a box The target is at a certain distance and height. The question is how do I find the amount I need to strech the spring to get it into the air. bonus how do I add air friction to the equation becaue it obviously makes a diffence

Homework Equations

heres given
my spring constant
distance between spring and box
hight of box
angle since its determine by the user

F=kx

x=v0cost

v=v0sin0t+1/2gt

The Attempt at a Solution

no idea how to solve this

Physics news on Phys.org
nm about the picture I can't post a image until I have 15 posts but its simply an L shaped design with a protractor on its side and a ruler on the top where the spring is lanched

This may help: Use the formulas for the amount of potential energy in the spring at a certain distance, then equate that with the kinetic energy of the spring once it has left, this will give you the velocity related to the stretch in the spring.

Welcome to PF!

Hi psp101! Welcome to PF! :smile:
psp101 said:
v=v0sin0t+1/2gt

No … you mean y = v0sin0t - 1/2gt^2.

And you need to find the other value of t (other than 0, that is) for which y = 0.

Then you can use the x formula. :smile: