Should I follow up job applications with a phone call?

In summary, as a Mechanical Engineering grad student, it is recommended to follow up with a phone call after submitting a job application. This can be done by speaking with the hiring manager or human resource manager and expressing your interest in the position. Alternatively, you can inquire about the status of the position and express your continued interest if it is still open.
rm446
Hello, I'm a Mechanical Engineering grad student (got my B.S. in ME as well) and I've started applying for jobs. I've heard that it's a good idea to call the company after sending them a job application but I just can't think of what I'm suppose to say. Do any engineers in the workforce has any advice regarding this?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
This is not complicated. Make the phone call and ask to speak with either the hiring manager of the department in which you hope to work or maybe ask to speak to a human resource manager; tell either of these people exactly what you are interested in telling them. If you applied then say what you have applied for, express in spoken but brief manner, your interest in the position, and let the person give a response.

Another approach: say what you applied for and ask about the status of the position; is it still open, have they selected some candidates yet ... if still open and you still may be interested, express your interest.

I understand the importance of following up on job applications in order to increase your chances of being noticed by potential employers. However, it is important to approach this follow-up call in a professional and strategic manner.

Firstly, it is important to research the company and the position you have applied for before making the call. This will allow you to have a better understanding of the company's goals and needs, and tailor your conversation accordingly.