Beer-Lambert Law: Calculating Light Absorption in Solutions

• Thread starter sid_galt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Law
In summary: I'm not an expert in this area. So, in summary, I don't think the energy of the excess (x-y)% light went anywhere.
sid_galt
Let's say a compound having a molar absorptivity of 20000 and a concentration of 3e-5 M is kept in a container 5 cm long.
This gives that each centimetre of solution will absorb 50% of the light passing through it since

[tex]ln\frac{I}{I_0}=-ebc[/tex]
where
I is the final intensity of light, [tex]I_0[/tex] is the initial intensity of light, e is the maximum molar absorptivity, b is the path length and c is the concentration.

The molecule is such that 20 J/cm2 of intensity of light is enough to excite all the molecules in a 1 cm range.

The frequency of the light is such that the energy of one photon is just enough to excite the first fundamental frequency of vibration in the compound molecule.

100J/cm2 is the intensity of light actually passed through the solution.

Since according to the beer lambert law, 50% i.e. 50J/cm2 of light has been absorbed by the 1rst cm of solution, where did the rest 30J/cm2 go when we know that its photons do not have enough energy to excite further fundamental frequencies of vibration in the molecule and that only 20J/cm2 is required to excite the first fundamental frequency?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Is this the entire question reproduced verbatim, or is some part of it the question and some of it your doubts ? Also, about the 50%/cm number - is that your calculation or is it given ? You realize that this can be calculated from the given data ? I get 54.9%/cm for this number, so I'm guessing that 50%/cm just a rough approximation. And to get this number, I'm assuming the molar absorbtivity is 20,000 M-1 cm-1 - because the units are not provided.

Please confirm/correct all of the above.

Thank you for the reply.

Gokul43201 said: