Why do molecules have rotational Raman spectra?

In summary, the Raman spectra of molecules can also be affected by their rotational motion, in addition to their vibrational motion. This is because the polarizability of the molecule must be anisotropic for it to be rotationally Raman active. This anisotropy is described by a tensor and is necessary for the polarizability to change as the molecule rotates. Without this anisotropy, the polarizability would not change and the Raman shifted lines would not be observed. However, it is still unclear how this anisotropy fits into the quantum mechanical picture of Raman spectroscopy.
QMrocks
Hi all,

i am studying the physics of Raman Spectra. Was able to understand the origin of Vibrational Raman Spectra... which was an effect due to the change of polarizability with internuclear distance due to molecular vibration. But, i still yet to figure out why rotation of molecules can result in Raman spectra too? I'm reading the book 'molecular physics and elements of quantum chemistry' by H. Haken. They mention something about the polarizability of the molecule as a tensor and that its their tensor anisotropy that contribute to this effect. But i was not able to appreciate in essence why this is so... Can someone pls direct me to better resource on this?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
rotational raman

An easier way to understand it might be to state that for a molecule to be rotationally Raman active, the polarizability perpendicular to the rotational axis should be anisotropic, or the polarizability should be different in different directions. This results in the polarizability being described by a tensor.

dgiznya

dgiznya said: