Symbolic manipulation inside integral

In summary, the speaker, an undergraduate student who has completed the standard calculus sequence, is struggling to understand the symbolic manipulation of differential elements in meaningful integrations. They are looking for a recommendation on how to better understand this concept. The person they are speaking with explains that these manipulations are a physicist's method of calculation and are not necessarily rigorous. They suggest thinking of the differentials as small, non-zero numbers to understand why the manipulations work.
RustyDoorknobs
I'm an undergrad who has just completed the standard calculus sequence (1, 2, and multivariable). I've done well in the courses, however, things like the following, which is a derivation of kinetic energy, still confuse me:

3SgqZ.png

Taken from here.

I want to understand the symbolic manipulation that often occurs when making meaningful integrations. I was taught that the ending 'dx' term simply signifies the variable to be integrated over. However, it is commonly used, for example, as a term to cancel things out. In general, I see a lot of symbolic manipulation with differential elements that I want to understand. Could you recommend something I could read to better understand this stuff?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
These manipulations are basically the physicist's way to do it. A mathematician would perhaps chide you for treating the differential for something it's not technically meant to do.

In those expressions, think of the d's as deltas, so you are dealing with a finite change and then the derivatives give you averages. Then hopefully at the end of the calculation you can take a smooth limit and make the expression make sense. :)

Matterwave said:
These manipulations are basically the physicist's way to do it. A mathematician would perhaps chide you for treating the differential for something it's not technically meant to do.