Transistor regions of operation

• Thread starter Number2Pencil
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Transistor
In summary: The three regions are traditionally called cutoff, linear and saturation. You are correct that when the bottom of the output sine wave is clipping, Vce is as low as it can go, and this is called saturation. But as the waveform comes back up out of saturation, what is that region called?When it comes back into the region of operation, it would be in the active region.
Number2Pencil
here's some newb questions for ya:

if you apply an AC signal to the base of a transistor (DC sources and coupling capacitors all included in the circuit to treat it like an amplifier), and on your output (Vce in this case) you get clipping on the negative side of your sinusoidal waveform, what two regions would this be operating in?

I want to say Vce saturation and Ic saturation, but once again I'm a newb.

Now what about if there is clipping on the positive side of the sinusoidal waveform? Cutoff?

Physics news on Phys.org
Thread moved to homework forums.

The three regions are traditionally called cutoff, linear and saturation. You are correct that when the bottom of the output sine wave is clipping, Vce is as low as it can go, and this is called saturation. But as the waveform comes back up out of saturation, what is that region called?

When it comes back into the region of operation, it would be in the active region.

Is that just another name for "linear"??

so when only the bottom is clipping:

it is partially in the saturation region and partially in the linear region.

when only the top is clipping:

it is partially in the cutoff region and parially in the linear region.

Yeah, sorry. I misremembered the term for the middle region. "Linear" is not the best description -- "Active" is the regular term. My bad.