Introduction to Topology for Analysis: Choosing the Right Textbook

In summary, if you are just starting out, I would recommend "Topology for Analysis" by Wilansky. It is a standard text, and it will give you a good foundation. Beyond that, you may want to get a more specialized book on topology, like "General Topology" by Kelley.
dijkarte
Where should I start studying topology for analysis? I'm completely new to the subject of topology, and I found there are different areas of topology, but my concern is the one that mostly maps to analysis concepts. Besides I know Munkre's Topology is the standard, but I'm not specializing in the subject and not planning to spend much on the standard text for now.
There are many Dovers but which one?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
"Topology for Analysis" By Wilansky, or "General Topology" By Kelley are both from dover

dijkarte said:
Where should I start studying topology for analysis? I'm completely new to the subject of topology, and I found there are different areas of topology, but my concern is the one that mostly maps to analysis concepts. Besides I know Munkre's Topology is the standard, but I'm not specializing in the subject and not planning to spend much on the standard text for now.

Thanks.

In many books on Complex Analysis, topology is developed as a tool to understand analytic functions. Basic point set topology, the Jordan curve theorem, elementary ideas of homotopy and homology and the idea of a Riemann surface are all developed.

So if I'm not specializing in topology I should just count on the preliminary materials presented in analysis? As I understand topology explains main concepts in analysis but in a dimensionless generic way, such as continuity, convergence, smoothness...etc.

Just get a good real/complex analysis book which spends some chapters on topology. There are many good such books. However, if you want more than a basic working knowledge, then you'd have to get a topology book.