Finding Pathways from A to B: Strategies for Test Prep

• Thread starter dontdisturbmycircles
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Test
In summary, the conversation is about a student studying for a test and seeking help with a problem involving finding the number of ways to get from point A to point B, with a "pond" in the middle and pathways on all sides. The student initially tries using permutations but realizes it is not an effective strategy for this scenario. They ultimately conclude that the best approach is to add up the number of ways to get to each point and then repeat the process. It is also noted that the number of possible paths is infinite unless there are restrictions on movement.
dontdisturbmycircles

Homework Statement

I am studying for a test on Monday,

I am making myself problems and I don't know how to do this one.

http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/8076/pathwayhf7.jpg

How many ways are there to get from A to B?

The middle is a "pond" and there are pathways on all sides of the pond.

Homework Equations

I ussually do these with permutations, for example of there is a grid in which you have to travel down 8 and right 5 I find out how many distinct permutations there are of DDDDDDDDRRRRR and that is the answer. Of course this only works for simple pathway problems and is useless in this scenario.

I know that I will be facing problems like this on my test so I need a better strategy, can someone help me find one?

The Attempt at a Solution

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Nevermind, I think that the best way to tackle these is just to add up the number of ways of getting to each point and then use that to derive the number of ways to get to the next point. Then just rinse and repeat.

dontdisturbmycircles said:
Nevermind, I think that the best way to tackle these is just to add up the number of ways of getting to each point and then use that to derive the number of ways to get to the next point. Then just rinse and repeat.