Advanced Lab as a substitute for research?

In summary, an undergraduate physics student is worried about whether or not a good grade in an Advanced Lab class and a recommendation from the instructor will be enough to substitute for lack of research experience. The student is at a first tier research university with a 3.8 GPA in physics and based on SATs and test prep, they expect to do well on their GREs. The student is worried that their inexperience could torpedo the whole deal.
detunedradio
It seems that I've dropped the ball somewhat in preparing myself for a graduate degree in physics. This is my last year as an undergraduate and I have no research experience at all. I wasn't accepted to any of the summer REUs for which I applied (didn't apply to as many programs as I should have, had a weak personal statement).

This semester I'm required to take an Advanced Lab course, which looks to be quite the intense experience. The lab consists of one eight hour session a week, and over the semester we are to carry out three experiments and produce a 10-12 page paper for each in journal style. In addition to this, we have to give a 25 minute oral presentation of one of the experiments. The experiments are assigned, but according to the syllabus we are not given a "cook book" of what to do. The syllabus even goes so far as to call the experience an "internship."