New to Solidworks? Free Documentation & Tips for Cutting Angled Pipes"

• Thread starter physicsCU
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Solidworks
In summary, you can use the same techniques for cutting angled sections in pipes in Solidworks as you would in Pro/E. First, you need to establish a sketch datum and orientation. Then, you need to dimension the triangle to give you the angle you want. Finally, you need to extrude the cut in both directions. Easy-peesy!
physicsCU
I am new to SW. Is there a good book that i can use (free documentation preferred).

Also, more to the point, i have a pipe, but i need to cut off an angled section on one end in order to have an angled end.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I am sure it would be the same in Pro/E as it is in solidworks. You simply need to extrude a cut to eliminate the material you want to get rid of.

I am sure you have to have a datum plane running down the longitudinal axis of the pipe...right? Use that as your sketch plane. You should be looking at the pipe from the side view so it looks like a rectangle. Now, draw a triangle at one end that will represent the angled section you want to remove. Simply orient the triangle so that the angled surface is in the orientation you want. You can draw the triangle much larger than the pipe if you want. It just can't be smaller. Next, dimension your triangle to give you the angle you want, where you want it in reference to the pipe. Then, simply extrude that cut in both directions over a distance equal to the diameter of the pipe.

Easy-peesy.

Let me know if you need more help on this.

I think i am having issues with the triangle part. I am not getting the sketch to work for the triangle.

Here is what I am doing. I can draw the triangle, but I know the angle I want to cut at, but how do I get this into the triangle sketch? I guess I am unclear on the dimensioning part.