How much energy could be stored in a superconducting ring

In summary: I lose all sense of time and space. It feels like I'm floating in space, or in a dream.In summary, the magnetic field generated by storing 5 MWh of energy in a superconductor would be 6.5 Tesla. It would be completely cancelled by a superconducting ring with a similar magnetic field, and would increase the field between the coils.
Barwick
I know this isn't just a simple problem, and it depends on a lot of things like the critical magnetic field at various temperatures, etc. And I'm still learning to calculate things like inductance and how that (eventually) relates to power.

But suppose there were a material that was a superconductor all the way up to, say, 100 degrees Celsius, that material would in theory have a very high critical magnetic field.

Things I'm specifically curious about is, let's say I wanted to store 5 MWh in a superconductor (yes, I know it's an absurdly high amount of power, especially when you read the next part, but keep in mind this is all theoretical guessing game stuff).

How do I figure out the following:

If I were to store that 5 MWh in a ring 10m in diameter, and X thickness (no clue here...), what sort of magnetic field would be generated external to that ring, and what would that field look like?

Similarly, what if I wanted to do the same thing in a ring 1m in diameter (or 10cm), how would that change the magnetic field, in terms of its size, shape, strength, etc?

And I guess finally, is there any way to cancel that magnetic field (to some degree)? Possibly by using 2 rings instead of one, which generate forces opposite to each other?

Physics news on Phys.org
For a 10-m dia. hollow sphere with stored magnetic energy of 5 MWh.

First, 5MWh is 1.8 x 1010 Joules

Second, the total energy stored inside a spherical volume V by a uniform dipole magnetic field is

W = ½∫BH dV = (1/2μ0) B2V