Teach-yourself-math for the math-impaired?

• Thread starter Druegan
  • Start date
In summary: I learned maths at home last summer to prepare for uni. I had no math background to speak of.3. Most of the math you do in university is taught fresh, assuming you have a basic understanding of grade 10 math.4. If you want to learn math yourself I would suggesting getting Stewart's Calculus book. It is very popular so you should be able to find it in a library. You should spend a lot of time going through the book and doing the exercises, reading examples, etc. Once you are done that you could start studying Real Analysis, if you want to get an introduction to 'detailed'
Druegan
Salutations Physics Forums dwellers,

I'm new to these domains, and I think before I make too much of an idiot of myself posting questions, I thought I'd ask one that would maybe allow me to minimize some of that.

I need to learn mathematics. At this point, pretty much everything from algebra on up, as I've forgotten most of it. I am a severely non-math person, and I could really use some guidance here. Highschool mathematics classes simply did not function for me. I'm certain it was the teaching methods imployed, but the whole process of trying to get there burned me out to such an extent that I majored in Religion in college just so I didn't have to take math classes.

This perhaps gives you an idea of what you'd be working with here.

So the question, ultimately, is: "Does anyone know of some alternative types of mathematics instruction for dummies? or the equivalent?"