Configuring IIS - Step-by-Step Guide for Localhost Setup

In summary, you can configure IIS as your localhost by following these steps: - installing IIS - setting the directory security to allow the account IUSR_MACH to read/execute on that file/folder.
NafiBear
I would like to understand how I can configure IIS as my localhost, ISS doesn't have config file as does Apache ?
After installing IIS, I tried accessing localhost but I was asked for username/password which I had never set up any,

Thanks for any instructions you offer.

Computer science news on Phys.org
yeh you will be unless you disable authentication from the mmc snap in for iis. The username and password will be your windows authentication, as far as I remember, not touched iis for a while..

Sorry, I am completely new to iis, could you be more specific ?

With IIS you have to be careful about one thing, "permissions".
Your website's root by default is in:
C:/inetpub/wwwroot
You have the option of making files/folders in your web root either available to anyone on the internet (anonymous), or you can restrict them to local users.
The account used by IIS for anonymous access is IUSR_<machinename>, where <machinename> is your machine's name. If your machine's name is MACH, then the account used is:
IUSR_MACH.
In the IIS snap-in (which should be under Start Menu - Control panel - Administrative Tools - Internet information Services (IIS) Manager), on the left side, there is a tree which should look something like:
Code:
Internet Information Services
  - MACH (Local Computer)
     + FTP Sites
     - Websites
        - Default Web Site
           default.html
           someimage.gif
For any file/folder displayed in this tree you can right-click on it, select properties, then in the directory security tab click "edit". Make sure to check the option "Enable anonymous access" if you don't want the log-in window to come up when you visit your site.