Problem with diffraction equations (diffraction and astrophysics)

In summary, the person is studying astrophysics and has encountered confusion between the equations for diffraction of light through a grating (sinθ = nλ/d) and the resolving power of telescopes (sinθ = nλ/d). They are seeking clarification on why the same equation is used for both situations and are referred to explore the concept of Fraunhofer diffraction, which involves the use of Fourier transforms. They are encouraged to explore this further on a website called hyperphysics.
IQScience

Homework Statement

Hey everyone. Just as a preface so you all know, I'm in England studying AQA Physics A.
I'm currently studying the optional astrophysics module.
I have a problem - in all the textbooks and revision guides I have, there is a topic on diffraction of light through a grating (Unit 2 topic), and there's a topic in my Collins Unit 5 textbook on resolving power of telescopes (Unit 5 optional topic astrophysics).First of all, in the Unit 2 diffraction topic, it states that for light being diffracted, the equation for finding the maxima is given by sinθ = nλ/d (where n = a whole number (integer)).

However, in the Unit 5 astrophysics resolving power of telescopes topic, it states that for light being diffracted (and forming an Airy disc), the equation for finding the minima is given by sinθ = nλ/d (where n = a whole number (integer)).

I'm really confused here, because both are examples of light diffraction and I have no idea whatsoever why the same equation has been used to describe the locations of maxima and minima. It just doesn't make sense.

Help pls?

edit: I should note that in the equation, d = mirror diameter (telescopes) or distance from grating to screen (gratings).

Physics news on Phys.org
Can't find your Airy minima formula: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airy_disk has quite different numbers...