Beta Decay: Experimental Demonstration & Critique

In summary, John Woodmorappe is writing about accelerated nuclear decay, and asks if anyone is interested in critiquing his work. No one responds, so Woodmorappe goes on to ask questions about half-life calculation for U238.
AFJ
Hello everyone,

Newbie here. I am student/enthusiast of science but tend to stay away from physics.
This excerpt is written by creationist John Woodmorappe concerning accelerated nuclear decay done in the lab, and I was wondering if there was anyone here would like to critique it. I'm not here to debate, but to ask physics questions from you guys.

"Experimental demonstration of the actual existence of bb decay, however, did not occur until the 1990s. 163Dy, a stable nuclide under normal-Earth conditions, was found to decay to 163Ho, with t½ = 47 days, under the bare-nucleus conditions of the completely ionized state.4 More recently, bb decay has been experimentally demonstrated in the rhenium-osmium (187Re-187Os) system. (The Re-Os method is one of the isotopic ‘clocks’ used by uniformitarian geologists5 to supposedly date rocks.) The experiment involved the circulation of fully-ionized 187Re in a storage ring. The 187Re ions were found to decay to a measurable extent in only several hours, amounting to a half-life of only 33 years.6 This represents a staggering billion-fold increase over the conventional half-life, which is 42 Ga! (Ga = giga-annum = a billion (109) years)."

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org