Keeping output air pressure constant.

In summary, Victor, an automotive technician, joined the forum and expressed his interest in it. He also mentioned his project which requires 1 psi air pressure and how he is using a 0-5 psi air pressure regulator, but is facing issues with maintaining a constant output pressure due to variable source pressure. Other forum members suggested using a 2 stage regulator or adding a reservoir to the system for better pressure control. Victor also found a different regulator, the Fisher Controls 912N, that could potentially solve his problem.
xxrusianxx
Hello everyone, I am new here and just wanted to take this time to say hi. My name is Victor I am an automotive technician from Boston MA,
I'm really glad I came across this Forum it has deffinetly peaked my interest. With that being said... I do have a question.

I am working on a project which requries 1 psi air pressure. My air source is 125 to 175 psi. So far I have obtained a 0-5 psi air pressure regulator (Dwyer MPR2-0) and can succsessfully set it to 1 psi. However, when my source pressure drops or raises it has a significant effect on my output pressure (+/- 2 psi). Question being, how can I keep my output pressure constant at 1 psi with a variable source pressure?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hmm. That's odd. The output pressure should remain constant as long as the input is greater than the set point. Only thing I can think of is that your flow rate is too high or your regulator is defective. You might also need to use a 2 stage regulator since the source pressure is so much higher than your output.

After doing some research I found a different regulator that does a better job at keeping constant pressure.
Fisher Controls 912N

If you don't have one already try putting a resevoir (air tank) on the 1 PSI part of your system to act as a damper.