What to choose: physicist, engineer, or something else?

In summary, the conversation is about someone seeking advice on whether to continue with their major in materials engineering or switch to physics, which they have a greater interest in. They are concerned about their future income and job opportunities in the field of physics. The conversation also includes advice on being well-rounded and diversifying skills for more job opportunities in the field of physics.
vraeleragon
What to choose: physicist, engineer, or something else??

To those who read this post, thank you first for reading this

I really need help as soon as possible. Currently I'm a freshman majoring in materials engineering. I chose that major because I thought it's a combination of chemistry and physics. I chose my major randomly when I applied to universities.
I already didn't feel much passion for engineering and designing stuff ever since in high school. We did some windmill engineering design competition (high school level). All I did was mostly technical paper, drawing in computer, and some little addition to the windmill itself. It was great and I like it, but I didn't love it. I also took a seminar class about materials engineering as a whole, and still I wasn't moved.
I've been really interested in physics and thinking to major in it. I'm currently reading books about modern physics and other physics-related articles in internet, and I like it when I read them. (cant wait to take the quantum mechanics and other modern physics classes :P) My problem is that I'm really really afraid about my income in the future.
I know I'm not supposed to consider the salary factor that much, but I have no idea at all about the field. I searched online and there are so many different opinions about it. I mean, I don't hate engineering, it's physical science, it's just I like physics way better.
Or maybe I'm just curious about how things work in quantum level.