The best elementary book to study Particle physics

In summary, there are several book recommendations for studying particle physics on your own, including "Introduction to Elementary Particles" by David Griffiths, "An Introduction to the Standard Model of Particle Physics" by W. N. Cottingham and D. A. Greenwood, "Facts and Mysteries in Elementary Particle Physics" by Veltman, "The New Cosmic Onion" by Close, and "The God Particle" by Lederman. These books have varying levels of technicality, so it is recommended to have a background in electromagnetism, quantum mechanics, and special relativity before diving into Griffiths' book. Other recommendations include books by Michio Kaku, Sean Carroll, and Brian Greene.
sam_physics
I am looking forward to study Particle physics on my own. Can someone suggest me a book which I can read and understand by myself?

Physics news on Phys.org
What is your physics background?

i am an undergraduate student. have read classical mechanics and quantum mechanics.

I like very much the two books George Jones suggested. Other possibilities include : "Facts and mysteries in elementary particle physics" by Veltman (world scientific 2003). It is informal, contains quite some historical anecdotes and is thus very pleasant to read.

There is a new editon of Close's classic book called "The new cosmic onion, quarks and the Nature of the Universe" (Taylor & Francis 2007) which is similar in spirit.

By increasing order of slightly more technical, there are other classics, I sample here a few :
"Modern elementary particle physics" Gordon Kane (Addison Wesley 1993)
"Quarks and leptons, an introductory course in modern particle physics" Halzen & Martin (John Wiley 1984)
"Gauge theories in particle physics" Aitchison & Hey (IOP 2003)
"Introduction to high energy physics" Perkins (Cambridge 2000 4th edition)
"An introduction to relativistic processes and the standard model of electroweak interactions" Becchi & Ridolfi (Springer-Verlag 2006)