Special and general relativity resources

In summary, the author recommends carrol's online notes as a good starting point for learning general relativity. The book is available at most American and Canadian universities, but is not usually found in bookstores.
Terilien
Hello I am a high school student who's interested in general relativity and would like to know about some good books. I know vector calculus, a bit of the calculus of variations, a bit about vector spaces and linear algebra, and of course and introductory knowledge of special realtivity. I also have some knowledge of ordinary differential equations and ordinary systems, though I can't claim to be very well versed.

I've recently learned about tensors, though my knowledge is still very elementary. I prefer the component free approach as I find it more rigorous and beautiful(however as I've said I still know very little as the notation has kept me from getting very far).

I'm looking for something that is mostly informal and that doesn't assume that I know the notation before hand. It would be necessary for it to devellop the necessary tensor calculus and diff geom in an informal way. I would be happiest if they formalized the material after a discussion of the intuition and motivation behind a concept.

I'm not exceptionally bright, but I'm very eager and willing to learn.

BTW, I've already read portions of a first course in general realtivity. The first chapter was very good(learnt the basic goemetrical aspects from it). The later chapters however had very confusing notation. I have very little formal training you see.

Anyway I'm rambling. If you need more information please don't hesitate to ask.

Peace out.

EDIT: If it covers other aspects of physics(related), then that would be a plus.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Last edited by a moderator:
quasar987 said:
Hey,

Check out carrol's online notes and especially his 24 pages No-Nonsense intro to general relativity.