INtegration and the exponential function

In summary: Just remember that for a geometric series, the sum is given by a/(1-r), where a is the first term and r is the common ratio. So in this case, a = a/n and r = e^(a/n). Good luck!In summary, the conversation revolves around finding the integral of ex with respect to x. The person is wondering about the format of the integral and whether to use the fundamental theorem of calculus or Riemann sums. They also discuss the pattern of rectangles formed and the correct way to write the series. Ultimately, the conversation leads to the realization that it is a geometric series and the formula for finding the sum is given.
nobahar

Homework Statement

I'm new to integration, and was attempting the integral of ex with respect to x.

Homework Equations

[tex]\int[/tex]ex dx

The Attempt at a Solution

Should I keep it in the format y=ex so that I use this in the calculation of the area? Or should I convert to ln y? I got stuck at a certain point using ex and wondered if this is because you can't pursue this option, or should I keep trying?
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Have you learned the fundamental theorem of calculus yet?

Thanks for the reply.
It's not asking me to do that (that is, I'm assuming you just mean use the relationship between the derivative and antiderivative), it's asking me to actually take the sum of all the areas below and the sum of all the areas above the curve and then let the number of divisions of the specified area, say 0 to A on the x-axis, tend to infinity. so that I get a better and better approximation of the area (trap the total area between an upper limit and a lower limit). If that makes sense!

Okay, so you have to use Riemann sums. Start by setting up the Riemann sum the same way you would for any other problem, then use the fact that the sum is a geometric series to bring it into closed form.