Find the convective heat transfer coefficient

In summary, the conversation involves a first year chemical engineering student seeking help with finding the convective heat transfer coefficient for petrol. The student provides information on the dimensions and properties of the petrol, and others chime in to provide assistance and verify calculations. The final calculated convective heat transfer coefficient is found to be 30,950 W/m^2*K.
Carlo09
Ok it's my first time here and I was hoping to get some help on some questions I have been given. I am a first year chem eng and I'm finding the work pretty hard so any help at all will be useful, thanks.

I need to find the convective heat transfer coefficient, h for petrol using this equation:

hD/Lamdaf = 0.37 Re^0.6

so using information I am given:

D = 3mm = 0.003m
Lamdaf (thermal conductivity) = 0.145 w/m k
(M)=viscosity = 0.0006 Pa s
u=Velocity of petrol = 19.2 m/s
P=density of petrol = 737.22 kg/m^3

Ok so to calculate Re I am using: Dup/(M) = (0.003*19.2*737.22)/0.0006 = 70773.12

Is this correct so far?

Then I put this back into the equation and rearrange for h which I get to be =14533.475! w/m^2 k

Is this correct because it seems very big to me! if not please can someone point me into the right direction... thank you very much!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm assuming this is flow through a pipe? You seem to have run the numbers correctly, and that convective coefficient doesn't seem out of the realm of possibility to me.

Your Reynold's number does seem a bit low, I caluclated 126,500 but I might have used some fuzzy numbers in there.

It says the temperature of petrol is monitored by a thermocouple in the flow, so I'm guessing pipes?

How did you get your Re at that value? Have i used the wrong values to calculate it?

Thank you for your help

I calculated the Reynold's number using the equation:

[tex]Re_{D}=\frac{\rho*u_{m}*D}{\mu}[/tex]

where
[tex]\rho=719\frac{kg}{m^{3}}[/tex]