Electric engineering programming language

In summary, you want to study electric engineering and computer engineering, and you are undecided about which language to learn first, C or Python. C is a good choice because it is widely used for embedded programming and also for hardware development via System C and because knowing C will help you with verilog. Python is useful for higher level work, prototyping things, tying things together, etc.
SuperMiguel
Well I am studying electric engineering and computer engineering major... i really want to get into microchips/microprocessor programing.. i don't know any programming language at this moment should i learn C? or i should start with another language like phyton?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
You're not likely to go wrong with c, I don't know of any microcontrollers that don't have a c compiler.

I suggest you learn both C and Python. There are different uses for each and they have different features. Learning both and contrasting the way things are handled in each will help you get a good understanding of programming in general. Interpreted vs. compiled, dynamically typed vs statically typed vs. strongly typed, memory allocation, etc. are some things that you would learn about. C is widely used for embedded programming and also for hardware development via System C and because knowing C will help you with verilog. Python is useful for higher level work, prototyping things, tying things together, etc.

Over your career you will probably have to learn or use many languages so demonstrating that you can learn two common ones is a good start.

For programming microcontrollers, C and assembler are very useful. Many embedded systems also use Java.
When writing code for a PC, Python, Java or C# are great choices.