Perlmutter & Supernovae: Debunking the Myth of Accelerating Galaxies

• Thread starter gork
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Supernovae
In summary: Perlmutter says that galaxies are accelerating away from each other. He bases this on the fact that things that are farther away from us are moving faster than things which are closer. The problem is that we see things farther away from us as they were farther in the past. So quasars at the edge of the visible universe were traveling at .9c 13.7 billion years ago. Galaxies half as far away were traveling half that speed 7 billion years ago, or whatever the numbers are. Andromeda is actually moving closer to us and that is still 2.5 million years ago.The evidence seems to me to indicate, not that things are accelerating, but that they are slowing down. We have no idea what
gork
I've been an amateur quantum physicists for most of my life, and ever since 1998 I've been wondering about this issue, but I figured someone would address it. Now they've given the Nobel to the guy and I still don't understand something.

Perlmutter says that galaxies are accelerating away from each other. He bases this on the fact that things that are farther away from us are moving faster than things which are closer. The problem is that we see things farther away from us as they were farther in the past. So quasars at the edge of the visible universe were traveling at .9c 13.7 billion years ago. Galaxies half as far away were traveling half that speed 7 billion years ago, or whatever the numbers are. Andromeda is actually moving closer to us and that is still 2.5 million years ago. The evidence seems to me to indicate, not that things are accelerating, but that they are slowing down. We have no idea what speed those distant galaxies are moving at right now. They could be moving closer to us by this point.

Can anyone show me where I'm wrong on this?

Astronomy news on Phys.org