Strength and direction of an electric field at a particular point problem

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of the electric field at a specific point in a figure with multiple charges. The conversation also delves into finding the direction and strength of the electric field, and includes equations and attempts at solving the problem. There is some confusion and questions about how to factor in the negative charge, and the conversation ends with a request for clarification and help with solving the problem correctly.
Netsurfer733
Hello all - this is my first time giving this forum a try. I've been using another site for a while but it's just too spotty and not enough folks there care to give decent responses, so here I am :)

Homework Statement

http://img684.imageshack.us/i/27p28.jpg/

What are the strength and direction of the electric field at the position indicated by the dot in the figure?

a) Give your answer in component form. (Assume that x-axis is horizontal and points to the right, and y-axis points upward.) Express your answer in terms of the unit vectors i and j.

b) Give your answer as a magnitude and angle measured cw [Edit: ClockWise?] from the positive x-axis.

c) Give theta, the degrees clockwise from the positive x axis.

Homework Equations

E_1x = E_1*cos(theta) = k*(q1 / r1^2) * cos(theta)

At least, I believe this is the main equation you need...?

The Attempt at a Solution

The book I'm using is confusing about this. I've tried the idea of calculating the fields for each of the points (the two positive charges and the electric charge), but as far as the angles go and how the negative charge will pull away from the rest of those charges...I start to get a headache. How does that factor in with the rest of the angles? Does it, perhaps, pull away straight up and leave the x components of the other one to push it out? Why am I not getting the right answer for that then when I try it, in such a case... Does anyone have an idea?