Lagrangian Multipliers to find maximum and minimum values

In summary, the Lagrange multiplier method states that the maximum or minimum value of a function will occur when the gradients of the function and the constraint are scalar multiples of each other. However, in cases where the constraint curve is a straight line and passes through the center of the level curve of the function, the gradients are never parallel. This means that the constraint does not actually constrain the function and the maximum or minimum value will be where the gradient of the function is 0. Similarly, if the constraint curve intersects the level curve of the function at a tangent, the supposed maximum or minimum may occur at a random point.
cooev769
I'm just learning this theory and the maths is really trivial but the theory is slightly confusing me.

I understand that if we have some function z=f(x,y) and we graph this on a three dimensional set of axis we will have some surface, we can then extend this by creating level curves in the x, y plane for differing values of z.

We then set up a function g(x,y)=k such that k is a constant, we call this our constraint curve and it looks something as shown in the link I have provided.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:LagrangeMultipliers2D.svg

I understand how the theory that the maximum/minimum value will occur when the grad of function f and the grad of function g are scalar multiples of each other. But imagine for a second that the constraint curve was a straight line and it went straight through the centre of the circle created by the level curve of the function f. In that case the maximum value would be at the centre of this level curve, but to my knowledge at no time were the gradients parallel.