Micro Processor project making a Gun Chronograph

In summary, a gun chronograph uses four qrb1134 reflective sensors to detect the speed of an object and then calculates and displays the velocity on a CRT. The sensors are spaced a certain distance apart and the projectile will be moving at a certain speed.
ajaustin12
I need a little help with a lab project that I am making for my Micro Processor class. My instructor gave me the idea of making a gun chronograph.

He wants me to use 4 qrb1134 reflective sensors to detect an object. The qrb1134's will be in two pairs set at a certain distance apart. The purpose for these sensors are to start and stop an internal clock of a MEGA16 micro processor trainer board.

I am also supposed to write a program for the MEGA16 to perform that function and to calculate the velocity of the object that passed through the two pairs of QRB1134. The program is also supposed to display the velocity on the CRT.

I am very new at programing and really don't know where to begin. Any help will be appreciative.

Engineering news on Phys.org
First, you need to know how far apart the sensors are, and how accurately you need to measure the speed. For example, if the sensors are 10 meters apart, the bullet speed is 1000 meters per second, and you need to measure the speed to 1 m/s, then you will need a timing clock ~ 200 kHz or better.
Bob S

I guess I should have been a little more specific. Sorry about that.

Since this is a class assignment i will be using a rubber band or some type of projectile with a rubber band.

I haven't decided the distance between the two pairs of sensors, but thought about putting them about a foot apart.

ajaustin12 said:
I guess I should have been a little more specific. Sorry about that.

Since this is a class assignment i will be using a rubber band or some type of projectile with a rubber band.

I haven't decided the distance between the two pairs of sensors, but thought about putting them about a foot apart.