How difficult: First year calculus-based physics without Grade 12 physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of majoring in Physical Chemistry and taking physics courses in college. The speaker is seeking advice on whether to take a year of physics in high school before entering college and how difficult calculus-based physics may be without prior physics knowledge. The consensus is that it is doable, but may require extra effort and seeking help. The difference between introductory physics and calculus-based physics may be due to the latter being a weed-out course. The speaker is encouraged to work hard and seek help if needed.
lillybeans
Hey everyone,

I am going to McGill University in the fall, and I want to major in Physical Chemistry second year. However,I didn't take physics in high school because... well, when I was 16 years old and out of Grade 10, I didn't know what I wanted to do for a living, and not taking physics costed me a lot.

I did take Grade 12 chem and calculus. I am currently doing Grade 11 physics in the summer. So far I am enjoying physics very much, especially the challenging questions, and I am getting 100% in the course. However, I'm not sure if my luck will persist through Grade 12 physics (which I did not take and is presumably a lot tougher.) How hard would first year calculus-based physics be (required for physical science majors) if I skip a year of physics in high school? Is it doable? Any advice? Help is appreciated. Thank you all in advance,

Lilly

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't know anything about a major in Physical Chemistry. But I think it would probably be best to take the course. College classes are harder I think because the professors don't seem to spend a lot of time on material and if you don't get it, then it's kind of on you. I don't know, I'd rather be safe than sorry.