Preparing for the GRE: Math & Physics Reference Books

In summary, the conversation is about preparing for the GRE in mathematics and physics and asking for recommendations on reference books and the level of difficulty on the exams. It is suggested to use a Princeton Review book for the test and to visit physicsgre.com and mathematicsgre.com for study tips and references. It is also advised to not use advanced texts but rather focus on big introductory physics books. The book "Conquering the Physics GRE" is recommended for review and test-taking strategies.
Segala
Dear folks,
I decided to prepare myself for taking the GRE on mathematics and physics next year, and coming from a non-traditional path (undergrad in music, basically self-taught in scientific matters), I'd like to ask you about some reference books and, thus, about the actual level of each subject on the exams.

For instance, for electromagnetics am I safe with my Purcell's E&M or may I read something like Jackson's book? Another example is real analysis (since the syllabus given by the site is not that clear): Rudin's Principles is OK or may I complement it with something else?

Any comments and thoughts are highly welcome! Thanks in advance, best regards,
Seg.

Physics news on Phys.org
Rudin is too heavy for the math GRE. As per my preparation, even a simple book like Ross will suffice as long as you have a solid grasp. I would invest in a Princeton Review book for the test. I did, and although I can't really infer how much of my score to attribute to it, it does cover the range of topics well.

Head over to physicsgre.com and mathematicsgre.com for study tips and references.

I will tell you right away that Jackson's text on Electrodynamics is unnecessary. That is a graduate-level text, so Purcell will do just fine as well as any freshman level text on the subject. If at all possible, try to take some physics classes at the undergraduate level.