Can magnets affect the human brain?

In summary, magnets may be able to temporarily suppress the visual field in people with depression, but this is temporary and expensive treatment with unknown long-term effects.
bayan
hi guys.

was wondering if human brain is effected when it is in a magnetic field.

cheers

Biology news on Phys.org
that's a good question. I don't think it would be effected by a "light" field (like, not very strong), because Earth is in a magnetical field. But it might if it strong since our brains have electrical impulses in them. But, I'm not an expert, so, if anyone else would like to correct me if I'm wrong.

A while back I read an article about a woman with severe depression. No amount of prozac could lessen her burden. So, knowing the portion of the brain that is effected by depression, a doctor used a very strong electromagnet and treated that portion of her head until he saw results. This is not permanent, and very expensive...however it does say something.

Hi all,

yes,

http://groups.csail.mit.edu/vision/medical-vision/surgery/tms.html

somasimple said:
Hi all,

yes,

http://groups.csail.mit.edu/vision/medical-vision/surgery/tms.html
This is interesting: the brief suppression of the visual field by magnetic stimulation of the visual centers.

I once read a second hand report saying that strong EM stimulation of these areas cause colors to appear in the visual field, but I haven't run across any specific studies of this.

adrenaline said:
It may be a promising treatment for bipolar depression (exposure to MRI field)
This was a noted one in clinical circles published in the American Journal of Psychiatry.. Of course, we don't know how long its effects are etc.

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2004/01/040101091614.htm
I'm skeptical, and even leary of, this treatment. At high frequencies it causes seizures, which means at lower frequencies it probably works by disorganizing neuronal firing as well.

HMI World | Around Harvard