Difference Quotient and 2nd Order PDEs

In summary, the conversation discusses the approximation of a second order partial derivative using a difference equation. The equation presented in the book is compared to a different approach using central differences, which is found to be more intuitive and easier to understand. The concept of central differences is explained and a link is provided for further understanding.
egsmith
I am trying to match a result in one of my textbooks. To assist with one of their arguments they are approximating a 2nd order PDE by using a difference quotient and they show the approximation as follows:

(d^2u[x,t])/(dx^2) =~ (1/h^2)(u[x+h,t]-2u[x,t]+u[x-h,t])

When I actually use the equation it makes sense, i.e. it is positive when u[x] is concave up and negative when u[x] is concave down. However when I try to derive it I get to a part that doesn't make sense to me geometrically (I am an engineer by trade so geometric arguments appeal to me).

I'll change the function so there is only one independent variable and start with the first order difference quotient.

f[x,h,t] = du[x,t]/dx =~ (u[x+h,t] - u[x,t])/h

This makes sense because it is the slope of the secant (which approaches the tangent as h gets small) at u[x,t]. I am going to rename this result to f so future equations look less cluttered.

I was hoping I could just use recursion like this:

d^2u[x,t]/dx^2 = f[f[x,h,t],h,t]

But you need to know a lot about u[x,t] to have this result be as useful as the equation presented by the book.

Using a slightly different approach, +/- h in a hope to get things to cancel, I can almost match the approximation from the book.

d^2u[x,t]/dx^2 =~ (f[x,h,t] - f[x,-h,t])/2h =
1/(2h^2)(u[x+h,t]-2u[x,t]+u[x-h,t])