Classical Thermodynamics for Statistical Mechanics

In summary, if you are studying thermodynamics with the intention of later studying statistical mechanics, you will need to focus on understanding basic terminology such as intensive and extensive properties, state and path functions, thermal equilibrium, and the second law of thermodynamics. You may also benefit from understanding concepts such as entropy and the practical applications of thermodynamics, but these are not essential for your study of statistical mechanics. Additionally, be cautious of relating the results of thermodynamics and statistical mechanics too closely, as this can lead to conceptual difficulties.
msaleh87
Hi all,
It's my first time to ask a question here

I am now taking a Thermodynamics course and I have the authority to choose what topics to study in this course.
My intention is to be able to study statistical mechanics afterward. So I need thermodynamics that will be useful when studying statistical mechanics.

So I'd like to ask: what thermodynamics topics I will need if I will study statistical mechanics.

another question is: I am studynig from a rather old book "Heat and Thermodynamics by zemansky". Is this a good book?

Thanks

Science news on Phys.org
msaleh87 said:
So I'd like to ask: what thermodynamics topics I will need if I will study statistical mechanics.

Thanks

You will need to understand the basic terminology in thermodynamics. Such as, intensive and extensive properties, state and path functions, thermal equilibrium, etc. Also the second law and Entropy are very central.

You don't have to bother much about the practical part, like gas and steam power cycles, refrigeration, and air conditioning.

msaleh87 said:
I am now taking a Thermodynamics course and I have the authority to choose what topics to study in this course.
My intention is to be able to study statistical mechanics afterward. So I need thermodynamics that will be useful when studying statistical mechanics.