Solving for x with a Square Root Sign: Help Needed!

In summary, the conversation is about solving for x in the equation x + \sqrt{x} = 6. The participants discuss different methods, such as isolating the square root, substituting u = sqrt(x), and factorizing. They also caution about spurious roots when squaring both sides of the equation.
Jules18
Does anyone know how to solve for x in the following equation:

x + [tex]\sqrt{x}[/tex] = 6

I don't know how to solve for x with eq'ns like this, and I'm studying inverse fxns right now, so I'm told that's what I'm supposed to do.

The square root sign is throwing me off.
The first time I tried, I tried squaring both sides to get rid of the sq. root sign, but it just made it more complicated.
Any suggestions?

~Jules~

Physics news on Phys.org
you need to isolate the sqrt(x), it will make everything A LOT nicer looking

Try substituting u = sqrt(x).

It is a quadradic in sqrt(x)
factorize into the form
x+sqrt(x)-6=(a*sqrt(x)+b)(c*sqrt(x)+d)

Three basically different methods, all of which work! I would prefer emyt's method:
write the equation as [itex]\sqrt{x}= 6- x[/itex] and square both sides. Caution: squaring both sides of an equation (or, more generally, multiplying both sides of an equation by something involving the unknown) can introduce "spurious roots" so be sure to check any solution in the original equation.

1. How do I solve for x with a square root sign?

To solve for x with a square root sign, you need to isolate the square root term on one side of the equation and then square both sides to eliminate the square root. This will give you a regular algebraic equation that can be solved using standard algebraic techniques.

2. What is the first step in solving for x with a square root sign?