Physics as a second career: Is it possible?

• Physics
  • Thread starter Apost8
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physicists
In summary: I had never taken calculus or physics before I started. In summary, a person with a non-math/science background is pondering whether it is feasible to pursue a PhD in physics. Some members of the forum share their experiences and offer advice, including taking some night classes in math/physics first and being aware of the realities of doing physics versus reading pop physics books. Others suggest exploring other career options and being aware of the nature of physics. The person asking the question shares their own experience as well.
Apost8
I'm just curious if anyone here who has studied, or is now studying physics, has come from a non math/science background.

"Why" you ask? Well (for anyone who might care to offer some advice/perspective/etc.) I have an education (B.S. and M.A.) in International Affairs and I currently work in the field. I've been very successful at it, but, I'm really just not "into" it anymore. Why that is, is a long story which I will not bore you with.

Anywho, over the last several years, I have become incredibly interested in physics and cannot part with the fantasy of going back to school for physics. The end-goal would be a PhD (assuming I were able). The bigest problem with this is, my current educational background is not in anyway related to math or science and I would have to start all over in an undergrad program. This, it seems, would be masochistic in the least, and insane at the worst.

What do you all think about such a drastic move? Is this "do-able" or is 27 too old to even entertain such grandiose and lofty aspirations? On the one hand, I like to think that if sufficiently motivated, I can do it, on the other hand, it seems like maybe this is just a childish fantasy I ought to ignore.